Help with preset light packages?

baggins1583baggins1583 Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in New Users

First - I'm a noob to 3D in general and DS in particular.

I bought a few set/scene/prop packages and many of them come with lighting presets.

Here's one example of what I purchased: http://www.daz3d.com/shop/the-library

When I load the lighting presets, all of the lights are set to 100% intensity and the actors are blown out. Am I not loading the presets correctly or do they just load at 100%?

The example above - The Library - has about 20 lights in it, so setting all the intensities (and warmth, and shadows, etc.) will be a pain, especially since their effects will be cumulative.

If I have no choice but to tune everything by hand, any advice as to shortcuts or recommended intensity values would be truly appreciated.

Comments

• SzarkSzark Posts: 10,634
    edited November 2012

Are you saying that the figure is blown out at render or before you render? With Area lights (as they are for the Library) you don't get at render what you see in the viewport window before rendering.

If the figure is being blown out in the render then adjust the surfaces to suit the lighting....Reduce Diffuse Strength is a good starting point.

If you want to adjust each light then yes you will have to do each one manually

Post edited by Szark on
  • baggins1583baggins1583 Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Thanks very much for the quick reply.

The character is blown out both in the viewport window and in the renders.

If I understand you correctly, it's the character - not the lights - that needs to be adjusted?