character interaction

info a324info a324 Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Daz Studio Discussion

Hello everyone
I'm new to DAZ and so far I only did stills with Cinema 4D so please forgive me if I'm not familiar with the right lingo.
I just downloaded DAZ 4.5
I'm trying to figure out how I can have to characters interact withouth colisions. the pinning or connecting parts to the other character gives very strange results. I'm trying to visualize manual therapy moves for a text book. The moves are simple but the problem is the colisions of the two characters. As an example how to place an open hand on the back of the second character... or wrap the hand arround an arm without having the collision happening.
Any pointers would be appreciated.
Thanks a lot

Comments

• Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 99,912
    edited December 1969

Unfortunately the tools for this are still very limited in DAZ Studio - there's no way to pin part of one figure to another, or to an object, and although there is collision detection it doesn't work in a way that helps here. I'm afraid it's down to manual posing to keep everything where it needs to be.

• info a324info a324 Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

hmm... I was afraid of something like that... so far everything works really great and the morphing of the muscles was also quite promissing. on the other hand... since I don't plan on animating... at least initialy, it might be still somewhat managable to pose the characters manualy. is there some other software that you might recomend for this sort of work? love DAZ so far and I'm very pleased with it.
    Thanks for your help and the fast responce.
    Alekos

• MattymanxMattymanx Posts: 6,900
    edited December 1969