Problems with my Upgrade to DS 4.5

edited December 1969 in New Users

Hello,

I have been using DAZ for a few years now. I had everything set up and running perfectly in 4.0. I decided to upgrade to the latest version because I really want to try some of these new features. But I am just completely stuck now.

When I first installed 4.5, all of my old content was not showing up in the smart content tab. All of the old names were there but the thumbnails were gone, and there were dotted orange borders with error message triangles. I think the reason for this may be that I didn't install Genesis Starter Essentials? But I didn't read the instructions carefully and just figured I would start fresh, uninstall Everything and then reinstall DAZ and then my content.

First I deleted these 2 folders:
/users/documents/DAZ3D
/ProgramFiles/DAZ3D

Then I tried to reinstall 4.5 again along with all of my content.

When I opened DAZ again, all of those broken thumbnails were still there in the SMART CONTENT tab. Genesis is not showing up under people in Smart Content, but Genesis is installed, and the program is running fine. Evolution Morphs were not showing up in the shaping tab, but they are definitely installed in the right place. I double checked the paths of the files on the DAZ3D website and everything is installed fine. Looks like they lost their Parent - Child relationship to Genesis?

I tried CONTENT DB MAINTENANCE --> RE-IMPORT META DATA
It only saw the content that was working fine, but not the broken content. And didn't fix the problem.

I am not sure what to do, I just want to start again clean. And uninstalling and reinstalling twice didn't help. How do I clear out all files and references to everything I ever installed, and start fresh? Or maybe somebody has a better suggestion?

Comments

• fixmypcmikefixmypcmike Posts: 19,583
    edited December 1969