First Time Render, Critiques Wanted and Welcome

spmwcspmwc Posts: 124
edited December 1969 in Art Studio

This is my first attempt at a full Render using DAZ3D 4.5 Pro and the 3Delight Render. I used the default lighting and cameras. I also used the default render settings in the 3Delight. I Brightened the render just a tad in Photoshop. I would love an honest critique from some of the members here as to what looks good, what looks bad and what I can do to improve the shot. Thanks for any input.

Lycan_Slayer_4_upclose.jpg
846 x 772 - 110K

Comments

• Herald of FireHerald of Fire Posts: 3,504
    edited December 1969

The pose and positioning are pretty good. Of course, to get a professional look to your work, there are quite a few things you can do to improve an image, and we'll start by moving away from the defaults. Here's a few tips to get you started making beautiful works.

Lighting
    Lighting is KEY in any work. It's the bread and butter of making even the most basic works into an art gallery piece. If you only take one piece of advice out of this, then lighting would be the one to take.

Firstly, the 'default' lighting is a headlamp. It's basically a light attached to the camera (perspective camera or otherwise) invisible in Daz Studio which always shines directly forwards. Unfortunately, this results in a very flat image, with no real depth and leads to unrealistic results. A lot of work I've seen from beginners makes heavy use of this, so be careful not to fall into the trap.

For impressive results out of the box you can use UberEnvironment (UE). There are a ton of settings you can play with here, so it's easy to be overwhelmed by options to begin with. But start with the basics and move on from there. Just by putting in the default UE light and changing the quality settings using the presets you'll see a massive difference in render quality, and it will bring out the details in your image well.