Manipulating the basic figure

bison2bison2 Posts: 0

Hi everyone,
I'm a newbie and just installed DAZ studio the other day. I need some directions to be pointed towards.

First let me explain what my intended use of DAZ. I'm a painter and my intention is to use DAZ as a posing reference in lieu of a live model since I'm quite a ways out from any urban area. I started playing around with the basic figure and soon got it into some bizarre pose off the ground, upside down etc.

I'm completely at a loss as to what the little diagrams represent and how to move the various joints and limbs of a figure. Sometimes I seem to have activated the mouse and other times not. I don't want to have to re-invent the wheel (so to speak) and just want to start being able to do some simple maniputating so as to set the figure into a pose that will allow me to get an idea as to how the foreshortening of an arm or leg or some body part hidden behind another lays when I draw the preliminary sketch for a figure painting.

I'm not at all looking to animate a figure. At some point I may decide to add clothing and props but for now I just need to learn how to move the various parts. So far it's really hit or miss. Sometimes it seems I've lucked out and can actually move a limb or turn the figure in the general direction I need but for the most part I can't seem to.

Is there some step by step tutorial or video that explains the logic behind the little diagrams that appear at the joints? I realize they somehow show possible directions the limb will rotate but thats about as far as I've gotten. Is there a "DAZ for Idiots" (joke)

There seems to be this one book on Amazon as far as I can gather. ”Figures, Characters and Avatars: The Official Guide to Using DAZ Studio to Create Beautiful Art” is it a useful book to buy or are there better resources?

Thanking you in advance for any help or advise.

JB

Comments

• Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 99,958
    edited December 1969