kChan

HabitualGypsyHabitualGypsy Posts: 87
edited March 2013 in Art Studio

So, here's a project I've been messing around with on and off for over 7 years. I'm very optimistic with it's current incarnation so I thought I'd share it with the DAZ community as it starts to materialize.

A little background is in order - the idea was originally spawned as artwork to go along with several songs as music videos in a sense. It didn't take long before it was something more than that but still not enough to stand on its own. Currently, the songs remain written but unrecorded - I'm still searching for a format (stylistically) to bring them to life where I'm satisfied. As it stands now, the graphic concepts are still linked to the music in a sense but are growing more independent by the day. If I was to let my creative ambition off the leash, I guess I'd like to see it develop into a full blown anime series... but let's take it one step at a time.

Anyway, the setting is basically semi-near future scifi - pretty much cyberpunk. The bulk of the story takes place in Angel City. It's your typical dystopian megalopolis - pretty much a stew of Night City from Cyberpunk, The Seattle Sprawl from Shadowrun, L.A. from Bladerunner, Mega-City One from Judge Dredd and Neo-Tokyo from, well, pick an anime. It's not set in any specific country and its population is intentionally very international.

Our protagonist is an anti-hero named kChan (pronounced kay-chawn). I've got the outline of her story in my head (lots of twists and turns, of course) and even some details; but don't worry it'll all be fleshed out eventually. I'll post some of the various characters as well as scenes. Eventually, I'd like for it to be animated, but for now (until I get my animation skills up to snuff) I'll be posting "stills" in more of a storyboard format.