Newbie not sure about lighting

spanishrosespanishrose Posts: 0
edited March 2013 in Bryce Discussion

I am a newbie that decided to try a landscape but not sure about the lighting or the sky effects
I dd everything in bryce and then went to photoshop to
add the alligators and babies but not sure about the lighting.

they are each on a separate layer and changed the layer modes and played around the brightness
contrast and hue.

Any critiques would be appreciated..

Just noticed I downloaded the wrong image . After this appointment I will do the correct image.

Update

first_bryce_image.jpg
1754 x 875 - 830K
first_bryce_image.jpg
1754 x 875 - 320K
Post edited by spanishrose on

Comments

• HoroHoro Posts: 10,539
    edited December 1969

Well, there's certainly nothing to critisise if you come up with such a render as newbie. The sky effects came out nicely. Care must be taken if 2D elements are added in a graphics application to match the shadows. Here, they blend in nicely. Otherwise, it's difficult to give any advice if your goal is not known. I'd say, keep it up.

• GussNemoGussNemo Posts: 1,855
    edited December 1969

spanishrose, those are real nice images. If you're looking for more information about lighting and sky effects look on YouTube at the videos David Brinnen, and others, have done. There are also many tutorials on Bryce-Tutorials.Info that may help.

• Dave SavageDave Savage Posts: 2,433
    edited December 1969

Your scene is building very nicely for newbie, maybe the light needs to be a little stronger, don't be afraid to turn the sun up (the sun diffuse control is in the sky lab under the Sun & Moon settings, it's default is 100 but don't let that stop you from increasing it to 200 or even 300), If it starts to bleach out the materials in your foreground terrain you can always turn down the diffuse for those materials in the material editor.