Save Display Settings?

SickleYieldSickleYield Posts: 7,633
edited December 1969 in Technical Help (nuts n bolts)

Me again.


This time I'm working on a conforming (not geograft) tail project and I need to hide Genesis' pelvis and legs. None of the presets I can find now seem to save the Display setting. Please tell me I'm just missing this? Hiding the actual bones results in much less render lag than transmapping them out. A morph will also be used but this is a good addition to have.

Comments

  • frank0314frank0314 Posts: 13,920
    edited December 1969

    Go into the scene tab and select the body part and click on the eyeball to the left and it will hide your selection

  • SickleYieldSickleYield Posts: 7,633
    edited December 1969

    Frank0314 said:
    Go into the scene tab and select the body part and click on the eyeball to the left and it will hide your selection

    I know how to hide things, sorry if I didn't get that across well. I'm trying to save a preset so the user can have a one-click setting to hide all the relevant parts at once. I can save a pose, I can save a mat preset, but none of these seem to include the "Display" settings options.

  • frank0314frank0314 Posts: 13,920
    edited December 1969

    Sorry I misunderstood you. I'm asking now to see if that's even possible

  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 99,474
    edited December 1969

    It should be possible, perhaps a Properties preset. If not a script would be easy to write.

  • frank0314frank0314 Posts: 13,920
    edited December 1969

    I have a render going otherwise I'd check to see if there's anyway

  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 99,474
    edited December 1969

    OK, the presets don't work - which seems worth a feature request - so here's a script, just change the name to the name of the node you want to hide (and assuming it's a figure you acn get rid of the second half of each loop's if thens)

    var items = Scene.getSelectedNodeList();
    
    // Turn list of nodes into a list pof figures, plus non-figure items
    var figs = [];
    for ( var n = 0 ; n < items.length ; n++ ){
     if ( items[ n ].inherits( "DzSkeleton" ) ) {
      figs.pushIfNotExists( items[ n ] );
     }
     else if ( items[ n ].inherits( "DzBone" ) ) {
      figs.pushIfNotExists( items[ n ].getSkeleton() );
     }
     else {
      figs.pushIfNotExists( items[ n ] );
     }
    }
    
    // Check for bones or objects with the deesired name
    var node;
    for ( n= 0; n < figs.length ; n++ ) {
     node = undefined;
     if ( figs[ n ].inherits( "DzSkeleton" ) ) {
      node = figs[ n ].findNodeChild( "lShldr" , true ) ;
     }
     else if ( figs[ n ].name == "lShldr" ) {
      node = figs[ n ]
     }
     // Now if we have an item, hide it
     if ( node ) {
      node.setVisible( false );
     }
    }

    of for pure figures with no need to check for props

    var items = Scene.getSelectedNodeList();
    
    // Turn list of nodes into a list pof figures, plus non-figure items
    var figs = [];
    for ( var n = 0 ; n < items.length ; n++ ){
     if ( items[ n ].inherits( "DzSkeleton" ) ) {
      figs.pushIfNotExists( items[ n ] );
     }
     else if ( items[ n ].inherits( "DzBone" ) ) {
      figs.pushIfNotExists( items[ n ].getSkeleton() );
     }
    }
    
    // Check for bones or objects with the deesired name
    var node;
    for ( n= 0; n < figs.length ; n++ ) {
     node = undefined;
     if ( figs[ n ].inherits( "DzSkeleton" ) ) {
      node = figs[ n ].findNodeChild( "lShldr" , true ) ;
     }
     // Now if we have an item, hide it
     if ( node ) {
      node.setVisible( false );
     }
    }
  • SickleYieldSickleYield Posts: 7,633
    edited December 1969

    Thanks, and please excuse my total ignorance as I ask for scripting clarification.

    When I paste that into a text file, change the extension to .duf, and change lShldr to pelvis, then try loading it on Genesis, I get a syntax error "expected { or [" message. What do I need to do?

  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 99,474
    edited December 1969

    .duf is data, you need to give it a .dsa extension.

  • SickleYieldSickleYield Posts: 7,633
    edited December 1969

    .duf is data, you need to give it a .dsa extension.

    Nope, same syntax error.

  • Lissa_xyzLissa_xyz Posts: 6,116
    edited December 1969

    Both work fine for me. I'd just copy/paste it and try again. I'd recommend using something to find/replace without manually doing it, also. That way you don't accidentally delete a symbol.

  • BlackFeather1973BlackFeather1973 Posts: 739
    edited December 1969

    You can save these as presets in Daz Studio, no need for custom scripts.
    File -> Save as -> Deprecated -> Pose Preset
    Make sure to check only the "Visible" box, so you won't record the actual pose or other properties.

    Visibility_preset.jpg
    703 x 686 - 106K
  • kitakoredazkitakoredaz Posts: 3,526
    edited May 2013

    Yes,,wao,,,the way of BlackFeather1973 perfeclty work @@;Thanks much ,,

    As for me,, most easy way to record visiblity,
    seems,,

    load zero genesis, zen set node invsible as you like,
    after that save as pose.dsa or dsb , with option Select All modified.
    it only record the visilbility .

    and I hope,,
    if I buy the product,, it must need one more pose preset,, visible all nodes at once.

    Post edited by kitakoredaz on
  • SickleYieldSickleYield Posts: 7,633
    edited December 1969

    Thank you, BlackFeather!!


    Yes, I will add a preset to restore visibility as well. I'm a big believer in giving utility presets to let the user of my product have more options.


    Thanks everyone for your help. This really is the best forum in the world for getting real assistance with processes.

Sign In or Register to comment.