planet surface texture seam

edited December 1969 in Bryce Discussion

I created a sphere and added a "Venus surface" texture. The results really impressed me (I'm just beginning), but I'm curious about the seam. Is there a way to get rid of it?

The map is a rectangle, and the sphere is, well, a sphere. I assume I need to convert the map in some way?

The map in question is: http://www.max3dnn.narod.ru/textures/venus_map.jpg

Thanks!

Comments

• Dan WhitesideDan Whiteside Posts: 500
    edited December 1969

Try setting the mapping mode to Cylindrical - should fix the seam problem but will distort the poles.

venus_cyl.jpg
    497 x 365 - 58K
  • edited December 1969

Nice - I had added a cloud layer and using your suggestion really makes it pop. Thank you.

venus_test2.png
    877 x 457 - 132K
  • Dan WhitesideDan Whiteside Posts: 500
    edited December 1969

Looking good!. Glad it worked...

• HoroHoro Posts: 10,556
    edited December 1969

If you have a rectangular map with aspect ratio 2:1, this is usually a spherical projection (like a world map). You would map it Spherical around a sphere to get it without distortions and seam. Unfortunately, sometimes you get a one pixel wide equator line, which is a known and reported bug. You can use Parametric in this case, the map is offset by 90 degrees, just rotate sphere by X -90° to adjust. Cylindrical is ok, there is no seam but it is vertically distorted.

And yes, it looks good. This is the false-colour radar map of Venus, if I'm not mistaken. Here, nobody notices the distortion.

mapping.jpg
    800 x 330 - 78K
  • edited June 2012

Thanks very much. Horo - it started as Venus, but I composited Mars with it and then added a bit of water.

Since I'm not working with recognizable land masses, distortion isn't a problem. It was the seam that was the problem. I've now used the cylinder for both the surface and cloud layers and am quite pleased. ;)