Hardware question: OS drive size for a new build?

Hello, friends!! I'm new to rendering (started back in September) but I've reached the point where it makes sense to get a dedicated rendering machine. While I'm not necessarily opposed to building one myself, it doesn't look like (at least at this stage) there some significant benefit to me going that route as opposed to buying a complete rig whose components I specify.

Which brings me to my question on OS drive size: how much is "too much" here? Is it always better to get a lots of space? Should the "lots of space" goal be more the focus of the storage drive/s? I only intend to use this PC for rendering (not gaming or streaming) and an occasional video edit. It will be running maybe a handful of software packages (the usual suspects for rendering work). Would there be any point of getting a drive with a TB (or more)of space? It doesn't appear to dramatically impact the cost of the overall build but would it just be a waste?

Insight??

Comments

• PerttiAPerttiA Posts: 10,015

You don't want to install anything but the OS and maybe the programs on your C-drive and 1TB is more than enough for that.

Get additional drives for the content and whatever stuff you have, but do not save them on the same drive with the OS.
    A good choice for DAZ content is an external 4TB USB drive that is powered by the USB cable (no extermal power source)

• GordigGordig Posts: 9,905

It's never a bad idea to have more storage on your root drive, but it IS a bad idea to keep your content on that drive.

• FSMCDesignsFSMCDesigns Posts: 12,724

PerttiA said:

You don't want to install anything but the OS and maybe the programs on your C-drive and 1TB is more than enough for that.

Get additional drives for the content and whatever stuff you have, but do not save them on the same drive with the OS.
    A good choice for DAZ content is an external 4TB USB drive that is powered by the USB cable (no extermal power source)