Iray Uber vs PBR Skin

I'm new to Daz3D and am finding some of the different options available somewhat hard to get a grasp on. Currently, one of the biggest mysteries is the difference between the Iray Uber and PBR skin shaders. Is there a way to determine which one a specific figure is using? My understanding is that both Genesis 8.0 and 8.1 figures may use either type.

I'm sure the answers are already out there, but I haven't been able to find a discussion that seems to clearly answer my questions.

TIA

Comments

• GordigGordig Posts: 9,905

To figure out which shader a figure is using, select the figure, go to the surfaces pane and select a single surface, e.g. Arms or Face. At the top of the surfaces pane, it will say "shader: _____". The difference between the two is that the Iray Uber shader is a completely general shader for anything you might want to do in 3D, while the PBRSkin shader is specifically for skin, has some additional features not available in the Uber shader, and doesn't have an opacity option.

• starboysfstarboysf Posts: 9

Gordig said:

To figure out which shader a figure is using, select the figure, go to the surfaces pane and select a single surface, e.g. Arms or Face. At the top of the surfaces pane, it will say "shader: _____". The difference between the two is that the Iray Uber shader is a completely general shader for anything you might want to do in 3D, while the PBRSkin shader is specifically for skin, has some additional features not available in the Uber shader, and doesn't have an opacity option.

Thank you. That certainly helps clear things up. If a figure is using the Uber shader is it possible to switch it to PBR, and would that really make a significant difference?