Brand New User -- Wait for G9 or Jump Right In?

I'm an author, expecting to use DAZ to sketch out scenes for my own benefit and as a time-killer during writer's block.

This seems like either a wonderful, or terrible, time to be getting into DS with G9 about to drop. I know nothing about any of this short of character creation intros in video games.

- Should I just throw down for the 9.0 model pre-order and start learning with it as my basis going forward? Or would it benefit me to work with the 8 & 8.1 versions to learn the ropes, first?

- WIll the Gen 9 Victoria be backwards-compatible with the 8 & 8.1 expressions, clothes, etc., the way the 8.1 models seem to be with the G8 expressions and so forth? Or will I have to wait for everything to come out in G9?

If it helps: i7 12th Gen, 32GB DDR5, 3060ti w/8GB. Not the best GPU VRAM, or so I'm reading, but you can't have everything. It runs my games fine.

Comments

• barbultbarbult Posts: 23,955
    edited October 2022

My opinion: Don't spend ANY money yet!

Download and install the free "Essentials" packages that come with characters and clothes. I recommend Genesis 8 Starter Essentials. Start to learn Daz Studio and play with that free content first. You may decide Daz Studio is not for you. If you do like it, then wait for Genesis 9, which should arrive in a few days, if the "middle of the month" ads are accurate. Download the free version of the basic Genesis 9 at that time. When people figure out what older stuff works and what doesn't, you will be in a better position to know what to buy.

Once you are sure you want to stick with Daz Studio, look at joining the Daz+ Club. You will get discounts on Daz Original products, like Victoria 9. Daz+ annual subscription is  on sale 40% off right now.