Can't apply material to specific Wardrobe items

Hi,

I'm not entirely new to DAZ, but I'm far from an expert. So far I had fun trying out different things, but some time ago I purchased a set of clothes that I just can't get to work no matter what. I gave up then, but now I would really like to figure out what's the problem (I paid for them after all).

The items in question: dForce MRB Outfit for Genesis 8 Female (it's supposed to work for 8.1 too according to the details)

Coat, dress, boots. I see the Materials I should be able to apply but the item stays white, both in the viewport and in render. The model figure is 8.1, DAZ is updated to the latest version, and yes I tried turning it on and off. Every other piece of clothing, hair, etc. works as intended.

I'll attach a screenshot to this post.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, and thanks in advance!

whyyyy.png
1920 x 1041 - 863K

Comments

• Do you get any kind of error message?

• barbultbarbult Posts: 23,955
    edited December 2022
    Thpse are hierarchical material presets. They probably only work when the clothes are on G8, not G8.1.
    Post edited by barbult on
    I looked at the product page. I don't see that it says it works on G8.1. You will probably have to put the coat on G8, apply the hierarchical material preset to the coat and either copy all the surface settings to the coat on G8.1, or save non-hierarchical material presets from the G8 coat and then apply those to the G8.1 coat.
  • GordigGordig Posts: 9,905

barbult said:

Thpse are hierarchical material presets. They probably only work when the clothes are on G8, not G8.1.

In my experience, hierarchical materials for G8 will work on 8.1, but not the other way around.

Oh, interesting. I don't have that coat product, but I could experiment with something else, I guess.
  • PerttiAPerttiA Posts: 10,015

Hierarchial materials often (usually) require the base figure (not the clothing) to be selected when applying the materials.