Basics

flashmoyoflashmoyo Posts: 12

Hi all,

I'm an experienced developer, but I'm kinda lost with Daz. Documentation seems all over the place with no obvious way how to begin or where to find resources. Anyway, I'd like to do the following:

1. Add a figure on the scene. eg: Genesis 2

2. Add a cloth (from the content library) on the said figure 

3. Load a material for the cloth added in step 2

Finally I'd like to know if it is possible to run a script automatically when opening Daz or make it execute a script from command line or another way with no UI interaction.

If someone can provide a sample for the above actions or point me to the right direction would be much appreciated.

Thanks a lot!

Post edited by flashmoyo on

Comments

• ChoholeChohole Posts: 33,604
    edited August 2015
  • You can run a script on start up or on File>New by entering its location in the Startup or Scene tabs of the Preferences dialogue.

• djigneodjigneo Posts: 283
    edited September 2015

1) Loading Genesis:

var oContentMgr = App.getContentMgr();oContentMgr.openFile("C:/DAZ 3D/Studio/My Library/People/Genesis/Genesis.duf", true);

You should probably use the App variable to search your content directory appropriately instead of hard-coding a path such as in my example.

2) Loading cloth:

var oNode = Scene.getNode(1); // assuming the first node is Genesis now, you actually will want to search for it, most likelyScene.setPrimarySelection(oNode); // select Genesis

Then nearly the exact same code as #1, instead pointing to your cloth content instead of Genesis. Perhaps iterate Scene.getNodeList() and look for the node that way.

3) Applying material preset to cloth:

var oNode = Scene.getNode(2); // find the cloth object (you'll probably need to actually search for it again, it may be under Genesis)Scene.setPrimarySelection(oNode); // select the cloth object