Does anyone have any good tips for a starter

hello Im new to 3D can anyone help me get started with some good tips please?

Comments

• FSMCDesignsFSMCDesigns Posts: 12,724

Hi and welcome! So what are you looking to achieve with Daz Studio and 3D?

First off, I would recommend not spending money till you have a good idea how it all works. There is plenty to play with using the various essentials and starters and also freebies. I would also recommend staying away from using smart content and connect. Either install things manually or use DIM and locate what you want to load thru the content library. learn the file paths and where files are located since this will help with troubleshooting issues and help with installing non DAZ content.

lastly,. ask questions. There are plenty of users on the forums that can usually help.

• GordigGordig Posts: 9,903

What do you want to do? If you're just looking to pose and render, like a lot of users do, you should look at posing references and real-world lighting and cinematography/photography tutorials, because those will help you get realistic poses out of figures and light them effectively for good renders. If you want to do animation....honestly, look elsewhere, because DS isn't very well optimized for animation, but Daz content is great to use in other programs once you understand the workflow for your chosen program. Again, the kind of advice that will help you will depend entirely on your objectives.

• lilweeplilweep Posts: 2,406
    edited February 2023

sierraburns693 said:

hello Im new to 3D can anyone help me get started with some good tips please?

Learn some basic terminology and the concepts they reference, e.g.,:

UV, UV map, texture, shader, normal map, SubD, geometry, mesh, topology, ray tracing, etc

If using Daz Studio, learn the Daz terminology, e.g.,:

Figure, Prop, bone, rigging, posing, material preset, shader preset, character preset, wearable preset, morph, etc.