Adding a hair tie to Strand-Based Hair in Daz3D Studio

Hi everyone,

I'm completely new to this and I wanted to start by creating a completely new character. My goal is to do everything myself, so I'm starting by learning how to create hair. I've been focusing on the Strand-Based Hair method, which is available in the software.

I've managed to create some hair to a certain extent, but now I'm trying to create a ponytail, which requires a hair tie. I was wondering if anyone could help me figure out how to add a hair tie to my Strand-Based Hair. Also, I would like to know how to model a hair tie myself in the software.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Comments

• FSMCDesignsFSMCDesigns Posts: 12,724

I can't help with the hair creation since I have never done it, but wanted to say that Daz Studio is not a modeling app, so you will be very limited on what you can actually create in DS. DS is mainly used for posing, animation and rendering. For actual modeling you will need a modeling app like hexagon, Blender or 3DSMax.

• lilweeplilweep Posts: 2,406
    edited May 2023

This doesnt answer your questions, but from experience, one problem which you may encounter that you may not have thought of is that, with a mid to high ponytail, when the neck bends down/side-to-side, the hairs which are spawned at the lower neck (the ones that travel upwards from the neck towards the ponytail) may dislodge from the tight ponytail.

I'm not sure what the best solution to this problem will be.  I guess you could style the hair to account for this or tweak the rigging of your haircap in the neck area so that it's all rigged to head bone rather than neck bones (assuming you are even using a haircap).  You could also make these hairs on a different haircap than the one which is rigged by the neck bones.

Post edited by lilweep on

lilweep said: