What to buy?

I want to use Daz to create an indie game where the player will be in a Medievil/Fantasy style world is there any products or bundels you would recomend that I could start on my project as quickly as possible without having to buy every item that catches my eye I am willing to spend the time to build my own worlds as I want them. Thank you for any advice you can offer as I am new to Daz.

Comments

• SofaCitizenSofaCitizen Posts: 1,781

That is a pretty tricky thing to answer without more information. In general terms, I would imagine for any decent kind of game you would need a lot of assets in general and so pointing out any particular ones may not be too helpful.

However, assuming this would be a "Visual Novel" style of game where it would be text-based over a series of images/renders, then perhaps it may be best to focus more on the clothing and immediate props/weapons. Depending on your story/locations you "MIGHT" be able to get away with using free HDRIs for the backgrounds/environments. That won't be as good or flexible as proper 3D environments but it may enable you to get started quicker and with less initial outlay on assets?

If the game is an actual 3D type of game then you'll just have to buy everything along with the interactive licences for them which will probably get expensive fast!

• FSMCDesignsFSMCDesigns Posts: 12,724

Your post is kind of vague. You say you are new to DAZ, are you new to game design?

I would say to decide what engine you plan to use and then go look in that engines store first for assets that are made specifically for that game engine (Unreal or Unity).

Get familair with the engine and get your basics down and then you can worry about trying to get DAZ assets to work in that engine and for your project.