How to fix crazy strand-based hair

renderedworld7renderedworld7 Posts: 0
edited June 2023 in New Users

I'm very new to Daz, only dabbled a little in it over the years. I'm trying to learn how to use strand based hair and create some simple hairstyles with it. However, every time I try to make some hair and style it how I want, I always get this clump of hair where the part should be just looking like a fireworks display. I've tooled around with this particular hair for a half hour trying to smooth it out and get rid of it, but whatever I do only makes it worse. It doesn't show up in the strand editor either, so I'm pretty much stumped here.

Even if I do end up getting rid of it and smooth it out, it looks like there may also be a bald spot left behind.

Is this simply a matter of not spending enough time on the hair, or is there a technique anyone can suggest to get rid of it? Or am I doing something entirely wrong? Every time I try to get it to look right, it doesn't, and it leaves me feeling like I'm missing something. And every guide I can find on strand based hair is just people making wild & silly hairstyles that don't involve a full head of hair.

Any help on this is appreciated.

Edit: I tried to attach screenshots of the hair but its not working. Here are links to the images:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/tazavo7xv9avytv/daz1.PNG?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/1xn6dletg1im6vy/daz2.PNG?dl=0

Post edited by renderedworld7 on

Comments

• GordigGordig Posts: 9,903

The word is "interpolation". SBH creates guide hairs, then uses those to generate render hairs based on the number and location of guides. In the case of a hair part, you have adjacent guides going in opposite directions, so the hairs are created by averaging the direction of those guides, creating the clumps you're seeing. There are a few options: