Cannot "Unpin Selected" in the ActivePose tool

awdzawdz Posts: 10

Cannot "Unpin Selected" in the ActivePose tool

Hello, this seems like it must be a very newbie question (and I'm a newbie), but I'm trying to pose fingers (which has been giving me fits because I want to pose the last 1-2 segments of the finger only, and it always wants to repose the entire arm).  So after some googling I found information on the pinning in the ActivePose tool, which seemed like it definitely fit the bill.

So I selected all the parts of my character and did Unpin All then Toggle Pins, so now everything should be pinned (if I understand correctly).  

Then I went to select the thumb 3 (last joint on the thumb), which then highlights it in the Scene tab, and then, using the little concentric circles pose tool in the upper-left corner of the Viewport, I click on the pin icon and select "Unpin Selected."  It does not appear to do anything, and I can't really move the thumb, so I'm assuming I'm doing *something* wrong here, but googling is not helping.

Any tips or ideas as to what I may be missing or doing wrong?

Thank you!

Comments

• Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 99,468
    edited August 2023

That seems rather complex, but if you want to go that route use the Toggle Pins again with the fingers selected (or just hit the space bar, if you haven't remapped it). Active pose has much more solid pins than the pinning for IK with the general posing tools so you should need to pin everything anyway.

Post edited by Richard Haseltine on
  • awdzawdz Posts: 10

Richard Haseltine said:

That seems rather complex, but if you want to go that route use the Toggle Pins again with the fingers selected (or just hit the space bar, if you haven't remapped it). Active pose has much more solid pins than the pinning for IK with the general posing tools so you should need to pin everything anyway.