How do you add skin details: Substance Painter, sculpting in Blender / Zbrush, Photoshop?

I am still learning with only some basic knowledge when it comes to 3D and all this. Now I want to create a custom character and give him some more skin details like wrinkles and pores. And I struggle to find a good way to do this:

• My first attempt was purely texturing with Substance Painter. I tried adding skin details with alphas with some okayish results for some basic level of very unsubtle wrinkles but at least I was not able to create really good (subtle) details in that way. I achieved good results for skin color details here but not for pores and wrinkles.
  • My second attempt now was to sculpt the details in Blender:
    1. I exported the character from DAZ to Blender and added a multiresolution modifier
    2. In sculpt mode I played with alphas again. The problem: it seems to me that I need a really very high resolution of the character mesh for that. All the online tutorials about sculpting skin details usually only work with the head so I think this is not a really good approach for a whole body?!
    3. Additionally I guess Zbrush might be better for that level of sculpting as I've learnt (theoretically, not practically) that Zbrush works with levels which seems to be very handy for sculpting first, second and third level skin details. Also Zbrush seems to be able to handle more polygons than Blender?!
  • I've never worked with Photoshop yet but I know that some people copy images of skin / skin parts into the texture map. Here I struggle with achieving a fitting color (gradient) for the texture map - my results would just look like some kind of weird patchwork skin laugh

So my question is: how do you create skins / skin details for Daz characters?

Comments

• lilweeplilweep Posts: 2,406
    edited August 2023