Collision and Poke Through Question...

Heyas gang,

So I'm doing some designs and scenes in Daz 4.22 and I'm running into a couple issues.  I'm doing a fight between a Genisis 8 character and Horror of the Deep and as I am posing the tentacles I keep getting poke-through and I was curious if there is a way to turn an option on or off that stops things passing through one another?  I want to get this as good as possible and though I am new to Daz, Is there a way to stop things passing through eachother.  Same with trying to sit a figure in a chair or on a dais or the llike.  Thanks for any advice and happy rendering!

DGS2

Comments

• Silent WinterSilent Winter Posts: 3,701

It doesn't prevent on object passing through another, but you can use a smoothing modifier to set a collision - It's normally used for clothes to prevent pokethrough from the wearer, but can also be used to morph the legs while sitting on a hard chair, or the cushion of a chair to interact with the legs. You can only set one collision item per object though, so you can't have a shirt collide with a figure AND with the pants they're wearing.

Edit - Figure - Add smoothing modifier (I forget the exact words). Then in the properties pane, you can set the collision item and level.

This may or may not be what you need for your purpose. Basically, it makes small movements of a mesh to prevent pokethrough, but doesn't stop one character's arm from being embedded in another's chest, as a random, non-specific, example.

• gundamrygundamry Posts: 11

Cool, thanks a lot for the advice, it helped a LOT!!  If I may be so bold, I have a couple more questions....