Strange Issue with Elonganting Fingers

Hello,

I'm still fairly new to Daz3D, and I've been running across an issue lately that I can't seem to fix that I'm hoping someone here can help me with. It happens when I go to have one of my characters grab onto something. For some reason, their fingers become super long and unnatural looking (see attached picture). This only happens when I I try to make their fingers curl--everything looks normal when I have their hands open or at 100% "relaxed". Is there some way to fix this, some button I can press or box I can check/uncheck to keep this from happening? Any insights/tips/tricks would be greatly appreciated.

issue.png
639 x 753 - 290K

Comments

• Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 99,461

A shape applied has not had the rigging adjusted to match the new placement of the mesh, so the centre of rotation is offset (which you will be able to see by seelcting one of the bones affected with one of the transform tools, such as the Universal tool, and looking at the location of the control gizmo relative to the model) - or possibly, the adjustments are applying even when the shape is not applied. Is this happening with all figues based on the same Genesis or only when certain characters or shapes are applied?

• crtskruegercrtskrueger Posts: 0

Richard Haseltine said:

A shape applied has not had the rigging adjusted to match the new placement of the mesh, so the centre of rotation is offset (which you will be able to see by seelcting one of the bones affected with one of the transform tools, such as the Universal tool, and looking at the location of the control gizmo relative to the model) - or possibly, the adjustments are applying even when the shape is not applied. Is this happening with all figues based on the same Genesis or only when certain characters or shapes are applied?